Wednesday, August 26, 2015

First Day in Japan!

I made it! After a very long day of travel, I write this post from the sanctity of my small hotel room. The room is small but pleasant. It’s in a quiet neighborhood, and every so often I can hear the train rattling through Musashisakai station, which I enjoy. It’s misting out, which I also enjoy, because I don’t think I’ve been in rain of any kind since December, and I love the rain.
The street outside my hotel
in Musashisakai.

My flight was only 9 1/2 hours long – I say “only” because I had been expecting it to be 11 hours, and 9 1/2 was surprisingly bearable. I find it astonishing that after only some hours on a plane you can end up in a completely different country.

Right when I got out of customs and into the main terminal, a man wielding a brightly-colored microphone came up to me and asked me in Japanese (translated by an interpreter) if I’d give him an interview. There was even a cameraman. Apparently it’s for some TV show. I just hope it’s not for some show that makes fun of dumb Americans. But he asked me questions like, “Where are you from?” “Why did you come to Japan?” “What do you look forward to doing in Japan?” so I doubt it actually was for a show making fun of dumb Americans. But a show like that is certainly warranted, so you understand my misgivings. He was very polite, though, and seemed interested in what I had to say. I think he thought it was cool when I said I was from San Francisco. I thought it was funny that that happened right when I left customs and was trying to find my bearings.
The Narita Express, straight from Narita Airport to Tokyo.

From the airport I took the Narita Express, which took me straight to Tokyo Station. Tokyo Station was busy, but it was nothing like that horrifying video I saw on Facebook a few months ago of dozens of people piling and getting shoved into the train. Muni is more crowded. Ultimately I found the trains to be quick, efficient, and clean, and as such, as far from Muni as is possible.

 My hotel provided me with slippers and a kimono-type robe garment. I don’t know if I will find use for those in the one night I’m here, but it was interesting to come into my room and find those neatly laid out.

My hotel bathroom - I have to step up a
ledge to get inside!
My small yet comfortable
hotel bed.
I can’t help but feel bad that I don’t know more Japanese. I do know some useful phrases, such as thank you, yes, no, sorry, excuse me, my name is…, etc. but so far today when I’ve entered into a conversation with a Japanese person I don’t feel comfortable saying anything other than “arigatou.” Hopefully that will change. I feel like they feel as bad about not being comfortable with their English skills as I with my Japanese skills. But each side tries their best, and as I’ve said, the people I’ve talked to today are accommodating and gracious. I’m going to try to become more confident speaking Japanese. The only problem is, there is a 98% probability I won’t understand what they say back to me.

No comments:

Post a Comment